The Perils Of Substance Abuse

Standard

489544_preparing_heroineGrowing up I’ve encountered quite a few junkies.

My great-grandmother (my mother’s father’s mother who is deceased now), My uncle (also deceased now), and one of my aunts on my mother’s side of the family were junkies.

My mother met my father through my uncle back in the seventies.

My father was a junkie. He also had other family members who were drug users and abusers whom he would party hard with (including his sister). My father was responsible for flipping his own brother out on drugs and he had the nerve to take credit for turning my uncle onto the dangerous substance during their younger years.

What was so tempting about heroin? It seems like such a dead high to me the way they fall asleep even while their standing on their feet.

Just about every kid who I grew up with in my old neighborhood had a junkie or two who was within their family unit whether it was a parent, sister, brother, cousin and so on.

There was a neighborhood full of them. And one didn’t necessarily have to come from a predominately bad family to be related to one.

I come from a very highly intelligent, upstanding, resilient and respectful southern Virginian family. A few bad apples did not spoil the whole entire beautiful tree, especially since the gutter rats all started and began with my grandmother’s mother in-law’s side of the family.

If my grandmother (my mother’s mother) had never married my grandfather and passed his own mothers family’s genes down to the majority of her children the scales would have been balanced (his father had to have had some substance relatives within his gene pool because my grandfather was indeed a highly intelligent man who was in the service and who was also born with a gift).

Well, that is ancient history and nothing to bitch about now because the damage has already been done just lucky I was one of the ones to not catch any of those genes.

489545_preparing_heroine

In general, the junkie thinks of them self to be the smart one while you to them are indeed the dumb one.

The age that a person starts to use drugs is the same age level that their mind will remain at if they continue on to the harsh abuse.

While I was also growing up as a young child certain neighborhood folk had the nerve to look down on me like I wasn’t supposed to turned out good because of the reputations of my junkie family members and because of the lies that my junkie relatives would tell on me (And what so much could a kid like me have done or have been doing? It was all jealousy of my character/persona, they could sense what I could or would have grown up to become) even though they also had close relatives who were drug and alcohol abusers.

After all of these years have passed these same people have had to eat up their words about all the shit that they had talked about me. One woman was so stricken with guilt and embarrassment, her face was all out of countenance when she had seen me out on the street some years back.

That woman had the same problem all of the rest of them had and that was with their children as well as their own past skeleton bones. All of their children had turned out themselves, all on drugs, going to jail, getting pregnant, not able to hold jobs, turning against them and whatever else you name it!

That type of lifestyle never has appealed to me. Drugs, alcohol, sex, wild parting and the like were the easiest things for me to stay away from. That wasn’t my nature.

Now I am not judging or criticizing everyone who likes to harmlessly drink and/or party I am merely stating the facts that I have experienced.

Drugs and alcohol are nasty and toxic poisons I’m way too particular about when it just comes down to the types of food that I put within my system. I’d be ready to kill anyone who’d try to put that shit up in my body.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: An Occurrence | "My Voice" Weblog By Miss LaToya Lawrence

  2. Pingback: I’m Forty-One Years Young Today! | "My Voice" Weblog By Miss LaToya Lawrence

Leave a Reply

