Saturday, February 04, 2006 at 11:06 AM EST

Ever since i was a little girl i’ve been exposed to all races of people. My mother wanted me to learn about other different cultures because that is what our world is made up of. I’m a black woman who from kindergarten on up went to school with a wide range of different nationalities and that experience was very beneficial to me and my life.

It is no good to be limited in life. The more you know the further you can go.There will always be prejudice out there in the world and everybody doesn’t have to like everybody but i can get along with anybody if i want to be bothered because i know how to socialize on many levels. I just don’t get along with low-life people, i can’t tolerate them, however knuckleheads come in a variety of races.

There have been a few people of other nationalities who were bias against me but i didn’t take it personal because i didn’t care, to me that was their problem. Then there have been quite a few who were very generous to me, one trusting me with her ATM card, and some trusting that i had their best interest but i think that was more of a trust issue than a racial one.

Other races, more so white people, always tried to help me get ahead in life. They treated me better than those of my own nationality. A lot of blacks don’t like to see their own kind prosper if they don’t have anything good going on for them. They are too busy being ignorant and jealous, gossiping and trying to hold people back by doing underhanded things. Instead of putting effort into ruining someone else’s life they need to learn how to conduct themselves and raise their black children right! Some people also don’t like race mixing.

I have blood relatives who are of another race so that matter doesn’t faze me. Some black people want to mix with other races for stupid reasons, because they want their children to come out pretty with light skin and nice hair, when they should be getting with someone for more sincere reasons.

I never really judged people solely on what nationality they were but i will admit that my family didn’t like Haitian and Jamaican people. We didn’t have any of them in our family. Like i said, everybody don’t have to like everybody-nobody’s perfect. We should be good to those who are good to us.

Leave a comment